Our Mission

The Response to Intervention (RTI) Program is committed to reaching all students who require additional interventions and instruction to reach their highest level of reading, written expression, and/or math skills in a timely and efficient manner.

 Introduction
Response to Intervention (RTI) is an assessment and intervention process for monitoring student progress and identifying students that are at risk for academic failure. The goal of RTI is to improve levels of struggling students early on in their educational journey. It addresses the prevention of academic difficulties using a series of effective classroom practices, progress monitoring, tiered instruction, and assessment. Our school district, in compliance with No Child Left Behind and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act, commits to developing a response to intervention plan that best serves our students, as well as, provide equal educational opportunities for students as required by the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Section 504).
The Hickman County School System has adopted the Response to Intervention Framework and has created a model that will best serve our students by using intensive levels of intervention, monitoring, and tracking progress at frequent intervals with required communication to parents.   In 2014, RTI was implemented in all grades K  through  12.   Our district level team has navigated through the process with assistance from the Tennessee Department of Education, Division of Special Education, the Iris Center and the Reading First Program.

What is the Process
Who does RTI Affect
RTI Preview

Literacy Interventions

Mathematics Interventions

Contacts

Becky Malugin, Principal
East Hickman Intermediate School
(931) 670-0227
becky.malugin@hickmank12.org

Eric Cannon, Principal
East Hickman Middle School
(931) 670-4237
eric.cannon@hickmank12.org

Tina Thigpen, Principal
Hickman County Middle School
(931) 729-4234
tina.thigpen@hickmank12.org

Mark Bentley, Principal

Hickman County High School

(931) 729-2616

mark.bentley@hickmank12.org

Michael Beem, Principal

East Hickman High School

(931) 670-1366

Michael.beem@hickmank12.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Belinda Potts, RTI District Coordinator
(931) 729-5406
belinda.potts@hickmank12.org

Leigha Coble, Principal
East Hickman Elementary School
(931) 670-3044
leigha.coble@hickmank12.org

Jill Hunt, Principal
Centerville Elementary School
(931) 729-2212
jill.hunt@hickmank12.org

Alicia Spears, Principal
Centerville Intermediate School
(931) 729-2748
alicia.spears@hickman.k12.org