Welcome to the Career Technical Education Site

The Career Technical Education (CTE) Department currently offers 8 different programs at each high school which are listed below. Each program provides career training and a unique hands-on approach in completing projects and assignments. Students enrolled in high school are encouraged to complete one of the state approved Programs of Study. The Programs of Study assist students in identifying program areas for student specialization, course selection through graduation, and developing a post-secondary plan whether the student is continuing on to college or preparing to enter the workforce. CTE instructors use a method of assessing individual competency for their CTE courses. By using 4 performance level descriptors (Advanced, Proficient, Basic, and Below Basic), CTE instructors will understand what a proficient student should know and be able to do. Our goal is to provide each CTE student with the opportunity to participate in a rigorous and relevant career-technical program that leads to academic achievement and successful employment in a global economy.

Mission

Preparing today’s students for tomorrow’s opportunities.

Vision

To provide Tennessee students the opportunity to participate in a rigorous and relevant career and technical education program that leads to academic achievement and successful employment in a global economy.

Hickman County Career & Technical Education programs prepare students to enter the workforce, continue education at the post-secondary level, and enter society as well rounded individuals ready to face the changing educational and work environments.

Training

Our enrollment is approximately 4,200 students. Our school system prides itself on quality of instruction and quality of environment. Our expectations for ourselves and for our students are high. We hope you will find this site beneficial, whatever your need. Feedback is always appreciated.

 

The following CTE program areas are offered at Hickman County High School and East Hickman High School.  Please click on the + for course information, links to state standards, and instructor information. 

Advanced Manufacturing Overview

Principles of Manufacturing

Mechatronics I

Mechatronics II

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:  Todd Collins  todd.collins@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School:  David Carter  david.carter@hickmank12.org

Transportation, Distribution & Logistics Overview

Maintenance and Light Repair I

Maintenance and Light Repair II

Maintenance and Light Repair III

Maintenance and Light Repair IV

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:  Todd Collins  todd.collins@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School:  Larry Rochelle  larry.rochelle@hickmank12.org

Business Management & Administration Overview

Finance Overview

Accounting I

Accounting II

American Business Legal Systems

Business & Entrepreneurship Practicum

Banking and Finance

Business Economics

Business Management

Computer Applications

Financial Planning

Introduction to Business and Marketing

Personal Finance

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:

Cindi Morgan-cindi.morgan@hickmank12.org

Chris Parker-chris.parker@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School:

Becky Cude-becky.cude@hickmank12.org

Bruce Jackson-bruce.jackson@hickmank12.org

Tiffany Peters-tiffany.peters@hickmank12.org

Thomas Stanley-thomas.stanley@hickmank12.org

Career Exploration

CollegeforTN

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:  Andrew Greer andrew.greer@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School:  Chris Dawson  chris.dawson@hickmank12.org

Construction Overview

Fundamentals of Construction

Residential & Commercial Construction I

Residential & Commercial Construction II

Construction Practicum

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:  Keith Boehms keith.boehms@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School:  Tony Choate tony.choate@hickmank12.org

Cosmetology Overview

Principles of Cosmetology

Design Principles of Cosmetology

Chemistry of Cosmetology

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:  Emily Cross  emily.cross@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School: Tracy Luttrell  tracy.luttrell@hickmank12.org

Health Science Overview

Diagnostic Medicine

Emergency Medical Services

Emergency Preparedness

Health Science Education

Medical Therapeutics

Nursing Education

Rehabilitation Careers

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:  Joann Redding  joann.redding@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School:  Libby Claud

libby.claud@hickmank12.org

Human Services Overview

Nutrition Across the Lifespan

Lifespan Development

Family Studies

Introduction to Human Studies

Nutrition Science & Diet Therapy

 

Arts, A/V Technology, & Communications Overview

Fashion Design

Foundations of Fashion Design

Instructors:

East Hickman High School:  Charlotte Boehms charlotte.boehms@hickmank12.org

Hickman County High School:  Raven Davidson raven.davidson@hickmank12.org

JTG (Jobs for Tennessee Graduates) Overview

Instructors:

Rob Mitchell-robert.mitchell@hickmank12.org

Michelle Williams-michele.williams@sctworkforce.org

CTE Director-Don Qualls don.qualls@hickmank12.org

CTE Assistant-Melissa Lovell melissa.lovell@hickmank12.org

Career Counselor-Jennifer Turpin jennifer.turpin@hickman12.org

 

For more information about Career and Technical Education, please contact CTE Director Don Qualls at 931-729-3391 ext. 2223 or don.qualls@hickmank12.org.

 

The Hickman County School System does not discriminate in its educational programs, activities, or employment practices on the basis of race, sex, national origin, religion, creed, age, martial status, or disability as required by Title VI of the Civil Rights Acts of 1964, Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. All necessary accommodations are made for equitable participation by constituents without regard to race, gender, disability, economic status, or special needs as required by Section 427 of the General Education Provision Act & P.L. 107-110-NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND.

In accordance with both the Civil Rights Act (1964) PL 88-352 and Office for Civil Rights Memorandum (May 25, 1070), the Hickman County School District facilitates communication with students and their families by providing interpreters and translations. These services act as an advocate for students while promoting a multicultural understanding within the school and community. The family liaison contact can be reached at the Hickman County Board of Education Office (931) 729-3391.

De acuerdo tanto con la Ley de Derechos Civiles (1964), PL 88-352 y las Oficina de Derechos Civiles Memorandum (25 de mayo de 1970), el Distrito Escolar del Condado Hickman facilita la comunicacion con los estudiantes y sus familias al poporcionar interpretes y de traducciones. Estos services actuan como un defensor de los estudiantes, mientras que la promocion de una comprension multicultural en la escuela y la comunidad. El contacto de enlace con la familia puede ser alcanzado en la Junta de Educacion del Condado Hickman Oficina (931) 729-3391.